Plant Markers

Hello my beautiful friends! I wanted to share with you my plant markers! These makers are very easy to make and anyone that loves to plant (even if it’s a fake indoor one) these would be a perfect addition to any garden/ plant! You can personalize them for a specific flower, to identify which plant is who or put cute sayings on them to  make you smile when you look at them. The sky is the limit so have fun!

What you will need:

  • Sculpty Clay
  • Foil (to protect surface)
  • rolling-pin
  • glass pan for baking
  • paint
  • mod podge (if you want to seal it from the elements)

How to make them:

  1. The clay needs to be soft to work with. This is the hardest part in my opinion. Knead it for a good 5-10 mins until it becomes real soft and easy to work with. The softer it is the less likely it will break over time. Then roll it out onto your foil.

Tip: After every roll pick it up and flip it to avoid the clay from warming and sticking. I forgot the foil and picking it up so I had to start over after rolling this one.

2. Cut out the shape and size of your markers you want. This can be a very creative part. I just did boring rectangles but think outside the box. You can make a heart shape at the top, a circle, make a bubble shape, star or anything else you can think of. Then add the letters you would like. I decided to leave two blank so I could use them for any plant.

3. Now the fun starts. I have been painting for about 20 years so I understand not everyone has every type of paint on the market. LOL Use what you feel the most comfortable with. I decided to break out my water colors. I like the effect it has.

Tip #2: If you use water-color, paint the letters without diluting the paint first. The darker color will seep into the letters making them easier to read. Then paint the rest of the marker. Let them dry for a min or so then wet your paintbrush and rub the paint off to create  different tones. Don’t get to much water into the letters or they will lighten. Water color can be forgiving so if you take to much off or you don’t like the outcome wash it off and start again.

4. If you plan of using them outside or where water can get to them you will want to seal them. I used mod podge because I feel it is easy to work with and I know it is water proof. I use it on my jewelry and wear them in the shower all the time. My DIY jewelry necklace is HERE.

TIP #3: I can get a tad impatient so I only waited a few hours after painting these before putting mod podge on. It can be done but don’t brush too much. It will pick up the paint and move it. After adding the mod podge, brush over it once and try to leave it. It will look white and pasty but don’t worry, it drys clear. if you wait 24 hours you can brush the mod podge a little easier but dont brush to many times still. it can still pick up some color.

5. Place it in your flowers and enjoy!

IMG_5513

If you try it please let us know how it went. If you have any questions or comments please ask. We read every comment and love hearing from all of you!

If you like what you see and want more be sure to join the fun!

What have you made today?!

3 thoughts on “Plant Markers

Leave a comment